Why do rabbits thumb?

Thumping the back foot is a natural reaction among rabbits to danger that they have smelt, heard or seen. Rabbits lift their rear feet and thump to warn other rabbits in the warren that there is danger. They also thump in displeasure such as when my rabbit thinks I talk too much.