How long does it take to grow a cherry tree?

When grown from seed, a sweet cherry may begin producing fruit in seven to 10 years. A sour cherry may begin producing fruit in four or five years. The tree, however, will not grow true to the parent, so the fruit may resemble any or none of the parent tree's ancestors.