Why are pounds labeled l. b. s.?

Pounds comes from an ancient Roman unit of measurement, Libra pondo, which means a pound by weight. Our word pound comes from pondo, but strangely, the abbreviation, l b, is the abbreviation for the Latin word, libra. The s is to make it plural; the abbreviation is usually just l-b.