What does it mean if potatoes are green?

Three things. #1, This just means the potato has been exposed to light and has produced chlorophyll (the green color). #2, It is most likely safe to eat, minus the green areas. #3, Producing the chlorophyll also produces solanine, which is toxic in large quantities.