Is betelgeuse in the milky way galaxy?

Located in the Milky Way Galaxy, and Classified as a red supergiant of spectral type M1-2, Betelgeuse is one of the largest stars visible to the naked eye. However, there are several other red supergiants in the Milky Way that are larger, such as Mu Cephei, and VY, Canis Majoris.