Where did jack o' lanterns originate from?

Where did jack o' lanterns originate from? Ireland Although the legendary Headless Horseman and his hurled pumpkin have been scaring Americans for generations, jack-o'-lanterns actually trace their origins back centuries to Old World traditions in countries including Ireland, England, and Scotland