How long can cheese stay in the fridge?

Six weeks

---

Some cheeses do not require any refrigeration. However, soft cheeses such as cream cheese, cottage cheese, shredded cheeses, and goat cheese must be refrigerated for safety. Cheese will eventually grow mold and is a good indicator that the cheese is no longer safe to eat. The amount of time varies.