What is hannibalism?

Hannibal was a Carthaginian general who marched an army from Spain across the Pyrenees and the Alps to attack the Roman empire in the Second Punic War. He defeated Rome in several battles and campaigned across Italy for 15 years.

---

It is associate with, Hannibal the cannibal from the movie, "Silence of the Lambs."