What is aki fruit?

The ackee, also known as achee, ackee apple or ayee is a fruit of the soapberry family, as are the lychee and the longan. Although having a long-held reputation as being poisonous with potential fatalities, the fruit arils are renowned as "delicious" when ripe, prepared properly, and cooked.