What is a furby toy?

American electronic robotic toy originally released in 1998 by Tiger Electronics. It resembles a hamster with over-sized ears and an owl beak. At first, the toy speaks "Furbish" when it interacts with you. Over time, it starts using English words to resemble the process of learning language.