How does a basketball work?

Basketballs bounce because of the pressurized air inside of them, gravity and Newton's Laws of Motion. When you dribble a basketball, your hand and gravity both push the ball towards the ground (Law #1). As it drops, the ball accelerates and speeds up (Law #2).