Do magic eight balls actually work?

No, it's simply a toy, that gives a random answer that the user can read.

---

Magic eight balls have all of the answers written out already. Which answer comes up is totally random. No, it's not magic. It's just you shaking up a little 20-faced die with answers written on each of the 20 sides. It's just like rolling any other die to get a random number.