What's the difference between a shaken and stirred martini?

Stirring merely chills and dilutes a martini whereas shaking additionally changes its texture. The ice, being violently shaken about inside the shaker, also aerates the drink with tiny air bubbles, which are held in suspension in the liquid, giving the cocktail a cloudy appearance.