What happened on the date nine eleven?

On September 11th, 2001 the al-Qaeda lslamic terrorist group launched a coordinated attack of four highjacked airliners on New York City's World Trade Center, the Pentagon in Washington and a failed attack crashing in a field in Pennsylvania. It resulted in the loss of almost 3000 American lives.