Where is pickles come from?

Pickles are made from cucumbers, vinegar, water and spices. Most popular pickle brands also contain added sugar. Though the exact origins of the process are unknown, archaeologists believe ancient Mesopotamians pickled food as far back as 2400 B.C., according to the New York Food Museum.