What's the difference between active dry yeast and instant dry yeast?

The difference between active dry yeast and instant dry yeast is simple: active dry yeast has a larger granule and needs to be dissolved in water before using, while instant dry yeast has a more fine texture and can be mixed right into dry ingredients.

---

active yeast needs to be dissolved first and instant yeast can be added in the dough