Why do mosquitoes bite your ankles?

Female mosquitos feed on blood and will feed on any area of exposed skin, the ankles are close to where they may be nesting; in the moist grass and if the ankles are exposed they will feed.

---

Mosquitos have learned that swatting means danger, and possible death, so they tend to bite open skin where they are less likely to be noticed.