How is cake flour different from regular flour?

Cake flour has a low protein level of 9%, whereas allpurpose is 11%. Pastry flour has protein level even lower, 8%. It is used to make things like pie crusts,biscuits,scones, & anything with tender,crumbly, & flaky texture. Lower protein content creates less gluten, less chewy, & more flaky products