Who was the taj mahal?

The Taj Mahal is a mausoleum comm-plex in Agra, northern India. It was built in the seventeenth century by Mughal emperor Shah Jahān to immortalize his inseparable companion and wife Mumtaz Mahal, who died in childbirth in 1631.