What is the oedipus theory?

The Oedipus complex is a Freudian term that was named after a man that unknowingly killed his father and slept with his mother. Freud said that a boy develops an unconscious infatuation towards his mother, and simultaneously fears his father to be a rival. This happens at an unconscious level.