Can babies have salt?

Babies need only a very small amount of salt: less than 1g (0.4g sodium) a day until they are 12 months. Baby’s kidneys can’t cope with more salt than this. Before your baby is six months old, he will get all the sodium he needs from breastmilk or infant formula milk.