Who is white eagle?

White Eagle was the hereditary chief of the Ponca Indians. In 1879, when Standing Bear and other Poncas returned to their Nebraska homeland to bury Standing Bear's deceased son, White Eagle led the Ponca who remained in Indian Territory on their assigned reservation.