What does champing at the bit mean?

According to common dictionaries, "champing at the bit" is to show impatience at being restrained, or to be restless. The term refers to the action of horses when they bite their bit restlessly. The bit fits in the horse's mouth and is part of the bridle headgear, used to help steer the horse.