Are goldfish considered tropical fish?

No, goldfish are not tropical. Goldfish and tropical fish have different temperature requirements. Goldfish – coldwater fish – prefer cooler temperatures around 65°F (18°C), while tropical species like their water toasty warm (72 to 85°F or 22 to 29°C).