What happens when you mix vinegar and baking powder?

When vinegar and baking soda are first mixed together, hydrogen ions in the vinegar react with the sodium and bicarbonate ions in the baking soda. The carbonic acid formed as a result of the first reaction immediately begins to decompose into water and carbon dioxide gas.