Where did the name cops come from?

Several sources say the usages originated in Northern England. The word "cop" is an old Anglo-Saxon verb for catch, grab or capture, deriving from a noun "cop" dating back at least to the 1100s. Some sources say this word related to the Dutch word kapen, with a similar meaning.