Are purple potatoes a thing?

Purple potatoes are actually a variety of sweet potato. They are less starchy, moister and their flavor is slightly nuttier/earthier than russet potatoes. Colorful addition to any recipe that uses potato chunks/pieces (stew, salad, casserole, etc.)