What good is a wasp?

Wasps are a gardener's friend keeping pest insect populations under control. Paper wasps carry live insects to sate the appetites of their developing larvae. It takes a lot of bugs to feed a hungry brood. Yellowjackets mostly scavenge dead insects to feed their offspring, nature's cleaning service.