Why is thousand island dressing called thousand island dressing?

Thousand Island Dressing was named in honor of the area where it was first prepared, Thousand Islands, New York. The story goes, in the early 20th century, a fishing guide's wife, Sophie Lalonde, made the condiment for her husband's shore dinner.