Who does pikachu evolve into?

Within the context of the franchise, a Pikachu can transform, or "evolve," into a Raichu when exposed to a "Thunderstone". In later titles an evolutionary predecessor was introduced named "Pichu", which evolves into a Pikachu after establishing a close friendship with its trainer.