Who are the chechen rebels?

Chechen rebels have demanded their freedom from Russia since soon after the 91 collapse of the Soviet Union and have increasingly turned to terrorist tactics to further their cause Chechnya is important to the Russian economy because of several oil and gas pipelines that run through Chech territory