What's the difference between a psychologist and a psychotherapist?

Depending on their area of specialization, psychotherapists may provide family therapy, cognitive behavioral therapy or something else. Psychologists focus mainly on how people think, behave and feel, applying a scientific approach to helping people understand and manage their behavior.