What did john james autobahn paint?

Naturalist John James Audubon, who was born April 26, 1785, first rose to fame through the 435 magnificent paintings he created for his landmark work, "Birds of America," which detailed more than 700 bird species and was first published as a series on a subscription basis between 1827 and 1838.