Is there a vegetable that grows on a tree?

Not unless we stretch the definition of “grow on.” For example, certain mushrooms grow only on trees and logs; and plantains, cousins to bananas, are considered vegetables in some countries. The closest thing to a veggie growing on (or at least in) a tree is hearts of palm