What did martin luther king do to change the world?

Martin Luther King, Jr. was a well-known civil rights activist who had a great deal of influence on American society in the 1950s and 1960s. His strong belief in nonviolent protest helped set the tone of the movement, which might have been a violent time in American history without him.