How big is a volcano?

according to volcanos discovery dot com,The largest volcano on earth is Mauna Loa on Hawai'i Big Island. It is a massive shieldvolcano constructed by countless lava flows. When measured from the base to the top, the pile of lavas measures more than 17,000 m (56,000 ft)!