What cause the australian bushfires?

Australia's deadly fires have been fueled by a combination of events. Extreme heat, prolonged drought and strong winds resulted from a weather phenomenon known as the Indian Ocean Dipole. Also, Police say 180 people are facing legal action for more than 200 bush fire related offenses.