What is the subjective tense?

In English grammar, verbs have tenses and nouns are governed by cases. The subjective is a case used for the subject of a verb. In the sentence, "Who hit the ball to whom?" "Who" is the subject of the verb. Contrast "whom" which is in objective case because it is the indirect object of the verb.