What was the sugar act?

The Sugar Act was a act passed by Britian's Parliament on April 5, 1764 as a way to raise revenue to pay down the debt incurred during the Seven Years War (also known as the French and Indian War) on the behest of the American Colonies. It is considered a significant cause of the American Revolution