How far is nuclear fallout effect?

Nuclear fallout is most intense near the source, but can be detected globally. After atmospheric nuclear testing in the 1950's and 60's, one of the fallout products was Strontium 90, which contaminated milk supplies around the world. Fallout is dust-like and can be washed or brushed off.