Who was ragnar the viking?

According to medieval sources, Ragnar Lothbrok was a 9th-century Danish Viking king and warrior known for his exploits and for his death in a snake pit at the hands of Aella of Northumbria. In the Vikings TV series, Ragnar is played by Travis Fimmel.