How did babe ruth get his name?

At 19, the law stated that George Herman Ruth Jr. had to have a legal guardian sign his baseball contract. As a result, Orioles owner, Jack Dunn became Ruth's legal guardian, leading teammates to jokingly call Ruth "Dunn's new babe." The joke stuck, and Ruth quickly earned the nickname "Babe" Ruth.