Is american cheese real cheese?

American cheese is processed cheese made from a blend of milk, milk fats, and solids, with other fats and whey protein concentrate. At first, it was made from a mixture of cheeses like Colby and Cheddar. However, since blended cheeses are no longer used, it cannot be legally called “cheese”.