Is american cheese real cheese?

American cheese is processed cheese made from a blend of milk, milk fats, and solids, with other fats and whey protein concentrate. At first, it was made from a mixture of cheeses like Colby and Cheddar. However, since blended cheeses are no longer used, it cannot be legally called “cheese”.

---

American cheese is a real cheese; however, most American cheese food that you see and the cheap food most people purchase is a mixture of oils and flavorings. If you look carefully you can find American cheese.

---

American cheese is not considered real cheese. It’s a “pasteurized cheese product”.