Why was atlas punished?

Atlas was given the task of holding up the heavens as punishment from Zeus for leading the Titans in their battle with the Olympian Gods for control of the heavens. ... The Titan Atlas held up the heavens, a punishment from Zeus for warring with the Olympian gods.