What's the difference between an e. m. t. and a paramedic?

EMTs work on the front lines of emergency medical services, providing support to patients, before they reach a hospital. They are trained in administering basic medical care and CPR. Paramedics are advanced emergency medical care providers. They provide advanced life support to patients.