Which strait separates the isle of wight from the mainland of england?

The Solent Isle of Wight, island, unitary authority, and geographic country, part of the historic county of Hampshire. It lies off the south coast of England, in the English Channel. The island is separated from the mainland by a deep strait known as The Solent.