When did the 6 oclock swill finish?

February 1 1955 the six o'clock swill was abolished in NSW. Six o'clock closing was introduced in 1916 as an attempt to get men home to their families earlier. Instead, it encouraged an hour long drinking binge between 5pm and 6pm.