What state is in the middle of the united states?

Kansas. The geographic center of the United States is located in a 1918 survey is located at 39°50′N 98°35′W, about 2.6 miles (4.2 km) northwest of the center of Lebanon, Kansas, approximately 12 miles (19 km) south of the Kansas–Nebraska border