How can you tell how old a shark is?

In general, scientists use body parts that accumulate over the years in a rate that can be reliably estimated. A popular method is to count stripes on the shark’s vertebrae, called growth bands. A 2016 study used radiocarbon dating of eye lens tissue that were formed when the shark was a young pup.