Who sings the song i'd rather be a hammer than a nail?

"I'd rather be a hammer than a nail" are lyrics from the song, "El Cóndor Pasa (If I Could)," by Simon and Garfunkel, included on their Bridge Over Troubled Waters album. It is based on the Peruvian melody, El Cóndor Pasa, first composed in 1913. There are an estimated 4,000 versions of this melody.